
DeSoto County Museum, Hernando

1845-1969
A stagecoach stop at Pleasant Hill Road and Old Highway 51, later remembered as a Civil War conference site.
The Gin, Nesbit
This story is sourced from the DeSoto County Genealogical Society history of DeSoto County. Welcome Engine does not invent heritage facts outside that record.
Source: DeSoto County Genealogical Society, About DeSoto County: A Brief History of DeSoto County Mississippi
"Four Ways" was an inn and stagecoach stop at Pleasant Hill Road and Old Highway 51 at Nesbit. In 1845 Dr. A. D. McNeese bought the property and built a log cabin on the hill above a spring. Around 1861 he built a three-story inn just east of the cabin. In 1862 he sold it to Dr. Nathaniel Winningham.
Nails for the inn were hand forged, square with blunt ends. Concrete for foundations, fence posts, and troughs was handmade. The mahogany staircase came from France in sections, shipped to New Orleans, sent up the Mississippi by riverboat, then hauled to Nesbit by wagon and assembled with pegs. Marshall County Courthouse in Holly Springs has a double staircase of the same materials and design.
During the Civil War years the inn was used as a military conference site by Jefferson Davis, who met there with General Nathan Bedford Forrest and other officers. Lex and Fronie Wooten bought Four Ways in 1946 and sold it in the early 1960s. The house was torn down in 1969.
Explore Nesbit today, or return to the heritage hub.

DeSoto County Museum, Hernando

Hernando Public Library

BankPlus Amphitheater, Southaven